Suggestions?

Chase and the Iron Lion have your disc golf needs covered.

Moderator: Chase20460

Suggestions?

Postby swan » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:20 am

I'm pretty new to the game and am in need of some helpful advice. I've played a dozen or so rounds in the past two years and I've decided to give it a more serious go this year.

I'm doing a lot of research trying to decide what to put in my bag. Most manfacturers sites have pretty biased explanations on which disc does what, etc, so I was hoping to get some input from anyone to help me answer some questions I have:

1) Putter weight - Is there a decided agreement on whether it's best to use a heavier putter? Seems to me a 150-165 could ricochet off the basket easier than a heavier disc. Any truth to this?

2) Over/Understable - My biggest problem with longer shots is that the disc tends to take a huge dive left before it starts to glide. Likely a fundamental issue with my throwing angle, but should I (as a beginner) be buying every understable disc I can find?

3) Too much, too soon? - Should I try to incorporate a disc for evey shot right now or should I just try to work with what I have?

4) DX>Champion>Star - Does anyone really play a DX? They're more affordable, but how long do they really last? I've chunked up a couple just by hitting the fence in my backyard while putting. Star all the way or what?

5) Little help? - Is there anyone in the area who will give lessons? I would appreciate a playing lesson where someone could give me a nice critique on a course? You can usually find me in the bowl behind Moline High School chucking my DX bundle-babies.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies. I am seriously committed to getting better and I look forward to meeting more players in the area. I live about a mile from Prospect (about 1000 ft from the IL) and if anyone is ever up for a round at Prospect or anywhere else, please let me know. --Andy Swan
swan

Postby cmlasley » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:11 pm