Computer Question

General topics - anything goes within reason, keep it civil.

Postby Detra319 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:27 pm

Why can't he bypass the HDD altogether and just boot from the CD? f8 on startup? or del or insert or whatever his motherboard uses to get into the bios options and then change startup order to have the CD boot before the HDD
The finial... Even with no clouds!
Detra319
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:51 am

Postby Grimm » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:48 pm

Nohr wrote:Just got off the phone trying to help my dad.

Something got all jacked up on his windows xp pc. Windows can't boot b/c of missing or corrupt vgaoem.fon. All the searches I did pretty much said use windows cd to repair the file. I had him burn an iso of the repair consol but he can't boot into it b/c of the orginal vgaoem.fon file. I am having him download knoppix and we are going to try and go from there. Any one have any suggestions?


At this point, I would just do a full system restore but I can get into windows to do it.

Also, Pornhub has ruined Sarg's computer...Any suggestions?
50 lashes for drinking the groups whiskey isn't steep.
Grimm
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: Cedar Rapids

Postby Nohr » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:56 pm

Spybot - Search & Destroy

right click and run as admin.

Someone with windows xp send me

c:\windows\system\vgaoem.fon
Nohr
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:12 pm
Location: Cedar Rapids

Postby Nohr » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:57 pm

Detra319 wrote:Why can't he bypass the HDD altogether and just boot from the CD? f8 on startup? or del or insert or whatever his motherboard uses to get into the bios options and then change startup order to have the CD boot before the HDD


did all that jazz even when he gets in the shit loads then crashes
Nohr
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:12 pm
Location: Cedar Rapids

Postby Detra319 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:23 pm

I googled download vgaoem.fon and came up with this...


http://www.computing.net/answers/window ... 40984.html


sounds about right.
The finial... Even with no clouds!
Detra319
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:51 am

Postby Nohr » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:28 pm

You are awesome. That had a link to the file and with knoppix we should be able to replace it easy. Thanks
Nohr
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:12 pm
Location: Cedar Rapids

Postby Detra319 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:35 pm

Nohr wrote:You are awesome. That had a link to the file and with knoppix we should be able to replace it easy. Thanks


Been saving my computers with google for a longggggg time now. Have a less stressful night :)
The finial... Even with no clouds!
Detra319
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:51 am

Postby SARG27044 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:15 am

Grimm wrote:
Nohr wrote:

Also, Pornhub has ruined Sarg's computer...Any suggestions?
Nah, my Norton antivirus say "Pornhub is safe"
SARG27044
 
Posts: 6707
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: D.M.

Postby irban » Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:48 am

SARG27044 wrote:
Grimm wrote:
Nohr wrote:

Also, Pornhub has ruined Sarg's computer...Any suggestions?
Nah, my Norton antivirus say "Pornhub is safe"

Thats probably Pornhub acting like Norton saying Pornhub is safe.
~~~- ¥
User avatar
irban
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: A State of Minds. (the idiot who thought this was clever is back, did you notice?)

Postby Grimm » Sat May 12, 2012 8:00 am

How do you scroll on a laptop with no mouse? Ceriously (lmao) I can't figure this out? I hate having to go to the bar on the right.[b]
50 lashes for drinking the groups whiskey isn't steep.
Grimm
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: Cedar Rapids

Postby brox » Sun May 13, 2012 1:29 am

Grimm wrote:How do you scroll on a laptop with no mouse? Ceriously (lmao) I can't figure this out? I hate having to go to the bar on the right.[b]


it has to be a configuration setting, should be under the mouse settings. if not post the brand name and model and ill let you know...
User avatar
brox
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:44 pm
Location: sunnyvale trailer park

Postby irban » Sun May 13, 2012 10:33 pm

You mean with the touchpad? Go to control panel under mouse. One of the tabs will say touchpad. There are options for vertical scroll, up and down on the right side of the pad, and horizontal, back and forth on the bottom of the pad. Also, various 2 and 3 finger options to set.

Without the touchpad, you can use page up and page down, and the arrow keys.
~~~- ¥
User avatar
irban
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: A State of Minds. (the idiot who thought this was clever is back, did you notice?)

Postby hyzerman16234 » Mon May 14, 2012 5:56 am

brox wrote:
Grimm wrote:How do you scroll on a laptop with no mouse? Ceriously (lmao) I can't figure this out? I hate having to go to the bar on the right.[b]


it has to be a configuration setting, should be under the mouse settings. if not post the brand name and model and ill let you know...


The up and down arrows might work.
Wildcat Bluff Crew Member
hyzerman16234
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:25 am
Location: Probably at Wildcat Bluff

Previous

Return to Stuff

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests