Disc info help

General topics - anything goes within reason, keep it civil.

Disc info help

Postby Scott G » Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:50 am

Im new to the sport and have read lots of posts and "whats in your bag" bios and dont understand some of the disc lingo. The most confussing is "1x, 2x, 10x..." on the rocs and other innova discs. I also read things about original molds and retools like the beast retool and dont know how to tell the difference. Any suggestions or help on where to find more info would be appreciated.

I think it would also be good to have a topic just for lost discs so if you lost one you could post to one spot and if you found one with just a name and no phone # you could post it. I have a freind that was in the parks and rec in des moines and found some discs and foung out that I play now and gave them to me. One has Olsons name and pdga # on it but no contact info and I have not met him but want to get him his disc back.

What do you think?

Scott G
Des Moines
PDGA # in the mail
DMDGC member since 11-06
Scott G

Postby GDL17921 » Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:05 am

The 10X on the Rocs referrs to a run of KC (Ken Climo) plastic that was run after his 10th World Championship Title. If you look on E-bay, you'll occasionally see 8X's, 9X's, 10X's, that will go for big bucks, since they are not in production anymore, and are pretty well liked rocs. You will see 11X's still for not so high prices, and I'm guessing that eventually we'll see a 12X, since Kenny won his 12th world title this year. I doubt that it will be on the old KC plastic though.

As far as lost discs, and a thread, usually there is, or can be created, a thread under each course's discussion for lost discs found at that course. Sometimes discs can be hard to return, as not everyone puts phone numbers on them, or phone numbers change, etc. If you have a PDGA#, you can look up to see who that person is here:
http://www.pdga.com/members.php