AO wrote:Yeah. Saw it the 1st round. Rough stuff.
The 2nd round I put my putt in the heart of the basket from no more than 10 feet and as the disc sat in the chains it blew out. Awesome 4.
I was just reading about this situation on pdga.com yesterday. By "sat" do you mean it was "at rest" before blowing out? Did your group not agree on whether or not it was "at rest"?
Rule 803.07B If a disc at rest on the playing surface or supported by the target is moved, the disc shall be replaced as close as possible to its original location, as determined by a majority of the group or an official.
While the interpretation of this rule would seem straightforward, there are occurrences in the field that make the proper call challenging. First, once a player’s disc is at rest on the playing surface, the wind, a dog, another player’s thrown disc or anything else can’t move its position until that player arrives to mark their lie. For example, if the wind or a thrown disc causes a disc at rest to get up and roll down the hill or maybe it even lands OB, the disc is returned to its original position based on the group’s judgment.
If that position is close to OB and was only seen by the group from a distance, the player should get the benefit of the doubt and be given an inbounds lie.
A disc at rest supported by the target might be “in” depending on where on the target it’s supported. If it’s sitting on the top of the chain support or leaning on the pole under the basket, it’s not in. However, if a disc in this position is struck by another player’s disc, that disc is returned to that position for the owner to mark and play from that lie to complete the hole.
If the disc is at rest in the chains or completely in the basket, the disc is just waiting for its owner to remove it to hole out. If it’s dislodged by the wind or another throw, the disc is returned to that position for the owner to remove it.